SHINee on YIN’s Volume Up

 

[Trans Note: SHINee were all very playful making jokes and laughing a lot. Enjoy it as such!]

# White Day Messages

DJ: wah~ you are really handsome!

DJ: Today’s White Day, you know it’s a day guys give candies to girls. You didn’t come in empty hands, did you?

Key: Ah, we didn’t even have enough time to eat.

JH: We prepared something sweeter than candies!

DJ: Really? Did you eat, by the way?

JH: We only had tteokbokki.

Ky: Candies are a luxury for us.

DJ: Then, I ask you to send a message to our audience instead of candies. “Lovey-dovey” messages are OK. Like from a boyfriend.

MH: I am thinking…can anyone do first?

DJ: Baby is OK, or jakiya.

MH: Volume jakiya, would you take my candies?

JH: Where are candies?

MH: yogi [=here]~ (in a cute voice)

ON: In a global way, baby~ this is for you, thank you.

TM: haha, giving candies, he is thankful!

ON: I’m thankful for your presence.

JH: Oh, good interpretation, TM: saying short.

Ky: Jakiya, there’s no white day in the U.S. How about following American style? Let’s just eat.

DJ: Who wouldn’t be happy if she has a chance to eat with Key? Good job.

JH: I’m not good at this kind of thing.

MH, TM: What! You are best at it!

JH: Jakiya, I don’t have candies, but take my ppoppo (kiss).

Everyone: ah~ so good!

DJ: He’s a pro.

DJ: Last, it’s Taemin’s turn. You should say Volume jakiya.

TM: Volume jakiya, I couldn’t prepare candies because I was too busy. I’ll buy you delicious food when I have time, sorry.

DJ: Ooh~ like to a real girlfriend!

yin_2

# Man’s Passion

DJ: What time does the word passion bring to your mind?

ON: Minho comes to my mind rather than a certain time.

JH: Passion, shinee’s passion, flaming passion is Minho.

ON: His word for self-expression.

DJ: Are you full of passion?

MH: Yes, I’m full of passion for everything.

(talking about their trainee days)

Ky: Taemin looks more like baby now than before.

ON: Yes, Taemin looks younger now.

TM: please, tell me something good.

JH, Ky: That’s a good thing!

TM: I don’t know. [Tae-MAN 😉 ]

DJ: I heard you’ve been on an elite course as trainees. Key-ssi, you were ranked high at monthly tests. And you came through 8000:1 in the audition, is this true?

Ky: It was a national tour audition, and only two got picked.

DJ: Jonghyun-ssi participated in sunbae Jang Li-in’s song only 6 months after you started training.

JH: I was lucky to be able to do it, but I cried after recording it because I thought I didn’t do well.

Ky: He practiced a lot, so I still remember the lyrics.

ON: Let’s sing it together.

(talking about how they tried to memorize the difficult Chinese lyrics)

(talking about shinee’s 3rd regular album)

JH: We feel through skin that our fans have been waiting for it, so we get energy from them.

ON: It’s frog style.

JH: What do you mean?

ON: Like a frog, you feel it through your skin. [Onew style joke 😉 ]

yin_1

# Dream Girl Album

DJ: I played Dream Girl a lot in my program. Why did you make this your title song?

ON: Uh…because it was a song I like a lot.

DJ: You must have a reason as shinee.

All: No, that was enough. We were like, let’s follow the leader. [all joining in onew’s joke 😉 ]

(talking about Girls, Girls, Girls)

DJ: It’s a song about you giving Taemin advice on how to attract a girl.

TM: Onew hyung gave me a really good piece of advice.

ON: Just play the piano, that’s it.

DJ: Is that all based on your experiences?

JH: The writers wrote it based on each member’s image.

DJ: Onew “play the piano,” Jonghyun “make eye smile,” Key “dress well,” Minho “just being tall and handsome is all.”

ON: If you are not tall and handsome, then you should play the piano. [LOL]

DJ: You are all so handsome. Our staff were so happy when you entered our studio.

yin_3

# Man’s Burdens

(talking about shinee’s reputation as being experimental)

Ky: My grandmother wants our songs to be more like Replay. She can even sing the climax. She likes Son Dambi’s “On Saturday Night.”

DJ: Isn’t the contemporary band concept burdensome?

Ky: There’s a concern. No new hairstyles left for me to try.

JH: How about shaving your hair?

Ky: Isn’t it too reckless?

TM: How about hair extensions?

Ky: Long hair like Yoo Inna noona?

ON: The Chinese pigtail style!

DJ: How do you wear for the airport?

Ky: I get to dress up since people see the pictures.

ON: Key-goon even prepares what to wear the night before, but I like casual style. So I just go.

JH: There was a funny incident. In a picture taken at the airport, Onew hyung was blurred because he was wearing comfy clothes and hooded.

MH: To think positively, the news reporter wanted to protect Onew hyung.

ON: Since then, I’m trying to pay more attention.

DJ: What was your response, Onew?

ON: I laughed out loud.

Ky: Not dressing up like others is hyung’s style.

DJ: Comfortable and tidy.

ON: No, I’m not tidy.

MH: Personally, hyung’s field jacket which he wore throughout the winter for two months…

JH: It was like a date with shine.

MH: I like it.

TM: It smells Onew hyung.

DJ: So you like comfortable and warm style.

ON: Yes comfortable and warm is best on plane.

Ky:  It’s because of his age.

MH: I like tidy and dandy style for off-stage.

ON: I think he’ll be a good daddy. [dandyàdaddy: onew style joke 😉 ]

DJ: I think Taemin likes cute style.

TM: I’m rather hybrid style. All mixed.

Ky: Because he’s always ready to receive knowledge.

TM: I always make a try in a contemporary way.

DJ: I think Taemin laughs like that even when he wakes up. Is it so? Is he chatty and cheerful?

JH: No, he’s not.

ON: Taemin sometimes concentrate on one outfit. He wears the same outfit every day.

TM: If I fall for one thing, I can’t get out of it.

Ky: Once you match clothes, you are like, this is so good?

TM: I put all my essentials, cell-phone, wallet, in one pocket, and it’s bothersome to move them.

JH: Like it’s bothersome to move your bag.

MH: Like Jonghyun hyung.

JH: Me? Ah, so I threw it out.

Ky: It was all worn out.

TM: Recently, Onew hyung and I stayed in the same hotel room. Suddenly he threw his bag away.

Ky: He used it so long, it smelled!

JH: It smelled of leather, long-used leather. He used to boast of the leather bag. We were all sorry that it was discarded abroad.

ON: After throwing it away, it weighed on my heart. I thought about asking them to look for it.

(Onew singing his bread song)

# Man’s Leisure

JH: We see each other every day, so we don’t spend time together on holidays.

ON: It’s extreme. I sometimes sleep, or have time on my own.

DJ: Do you drink alcohol together?

JH: Yes, we sometimes do in a hotel room abroad since Taemin has come of age.

DJ: You said you dropped your cell phone to have it cracked after you drank alcohol.

JH: Ah, it was when I did with my friends. I don’t know, I was holding it, and it just slipped out of my hand.

ON: It has feet.

DJ: (laughing) You play like this when you are together, right?

Ky: Our voices get hoarse when we get off our car.

JH: When our staff go in the same car with us about for 3 hours, they complain that we are too noisy.

DJ: It will be really fun if you watch a soccer or baseball game together.

ON: Only Minho-goon likes it.

Ky: Isn’t it strange we don’t like that stuff?

JH: It might be good. If we all liked it, we would have stayed up late and ordered chicken to have with beer.

Ky: Our common interest is entertainment and news.

MH: I wish our members would…in early morning together.

Ky: Enough.

JH: When we have a schedule next day, Minho-goon wants to watch a soccer game at night.

yin_4

# When are you looking forward to?

TM: When I’m 25 or 26?

ON: That’s my age.

TM: I think the middle of 20s is a blooming time.

ON: It is not. (everyone laughing)

TM: I think that’s when you start looking wonderful.

JH: Man’s start time is middle age. Men become true men when they have a family.

DJ: When do you look forward to?

JH: When I’m 35. I think I’ll be married by then.

DJ: You have that dream.

JH: Yes, I do.

ON: Do you want a boy or girl?

TM: Who do you want to marry?

JH: I’ll marry a woman.

ON: That’s unexpected!

Ky: By that time, you may have freedom of choice.

JH: You all know.

Ky: That’s why it’s unexpected.

DJ: What about you, Minh-ssi?

MH: When I’m 30. I’m curious what I’d think and how I’d feel at that time. Even though I’ll be doing the same thing, I think I’ll feel differently.

DJ: You will get better as an actor.

MH: I hope so.

Ky: Don’t grow beard. I won’t see you!

DJ: Does it grow? How can you shave so clean? I think Key-ssi doesn’t have beard.

JH: No, lots of beard he has. He has to get up one hour earlier than us.

Ky: When we make a music video and stays up all night, then I find my beard longer.

DJ: Is it black? (laughing) because your face is so white.

ON: Sometimes it grows blue.

Ky: I dye it so much, so it grows blonde now.

JH: He took good care of the blue mark after shaving and got rid of it.

ON: I look forward to next year. Don’t you look forward to a near future than a far one? Like when we continue our activities, where we will be next year.

DJ: Do you have any specific plan for next year?

ON: Nope.

MH: I want Onew hyung not to drink alcohol alone next year.

DJ: Oh do you drink alcohol alone?

MH: I felt sorry when I heard that.

Ky: No, it’s just your point of view. Sometimes I feel good when I drink alcohol alone.

MH: But it wasn’t like that. When I asked, what did you do yesterday, he said, I drank alcohol. With whom? Just by myself.

Ky: That’s what those who enjoy solitude do.

DJ: Where did you do that?

ON: Throwing darts.

MH: At a bar.

JH: Pub (Key laughing loud)

Ky: It’s strange.

ON, TM: It’s not.

MH: So I plan to be his companion.

DJ: Then he should watch a soccer game with you?

MH: No, I’ll throw darts with him.

Key: I look forward to our 10th anniversary. I can’t imagine it. 5 years left, but it will be soon.

DJ: Even in your 10th anniversary, you are still young.

JH: Taemin will be 26, Onew hyung’s age.

TM: Ah, I’ll be old.

MH: Jonghyun hyung will be 29, I 28, Key 28.

ON: I’ll be 30.

DJ: In 5 years, you will be still younger than I am now. Aren’t you happy?

Ky: You look very young.

TM: You are not 40, are you?

DJ: Taemin-ssi!!!

yin_5

*The translation is not 100% complete or accurate.

Cr: Trans by jujugal

8 thoughts on “SHINee on YIN’s Volume Up

  1. Thank you so much! Even though I don’t understand a word they say, I love hearing/seeing them on radio shows because it really demonstrates how attuned they are to each other, if that makes sense? The banter, the back and forth, the smoothness of conversation…I think it shows how close they are as a group and as people.

    And as for the convo bout Jjong’s choice of marriage partner…iiiiiiiiiinteresting! Heh. But even if they are just joking around, it’s nice to see it acknowledged without an accompanying ‘ew’ (at least I hope?). And on that note: Key, I really hope you’re right.

  2. thanks for the translations!!! so many funny precious moments!!!!
    ahahaha Taemin at the end!!! “You are not 40, are you?” bwahahhaa!!!
    Key i can’t wait for your 10th anniversary too!!!!
    aaawww the last pics!!! DuBu leaning on Minho!!!! ccuuuuuttteee!!!!!!!

  3. Thank you so much for the translations, Juju! ❤
    loved their appearance on this radio! so much hilarious stuff~

Leave a Reply

